Continue to Kill by Debauchery

Debauchery Continue to Kill

01. It Pleases Us to Kill
02. Blood God Rising
03. Continue to Kill
04. Faith and Fire
05. Hard Rockin'
06. Apostle of War
07. Worship the Violence
08. King of Killing
09. Angel of Death
10. Warfare
11. Cuntkiller
12. Mincing Machine
13. Metal on Metal
14. Walking Glory Roads

Release date : April 2008

Reviewed by Eric Stephens


Background information


Background information

Initially dubbed Maggotcunt, and the brainchild of Thomas “The Bloodbeast” Gurrath, the group cut inaugural demo tape Zombie in 2001. At Maranis Studio in 2002's winter and 2003's early days, Gurrath cut debut album Kill Maim Burn. Once again, Ronald Squire handled drums, whilst Gurrath handled bass, guitars and vocals, with solos being executed by a studio musician. Lifted from Zombie, “Butchered Zombies” surfaced on the debut album's track listing. Debauchery adopted their latter day name in 2003. Following this, Debauchery's lineup featured; Thomas supplying vocals, Eri handling guitar, Marco occupying bass, and Dani behind the drumkit. The outfit toured Europe alongside Hate Plow in 2003's summer, and garnered a German supporting slot under Napalm Death in 2003's autumn. In support of sophomore album Rage of the Bloodbeast, Maranis studio played host once again during 2004's beginning. Dani and Marco performed their respective instruments, Thomas handled both guitars and vocals, and a studio musician laid down solos. Mixing and mastering, meanwhile, occurred at House of Music. At this time, the guitar and bass slots featured a revolving door of musicians.

In the summer of 2005, Debauchery entered House of Music to cut third album Torture Pit. To handle bass guitar, Pink Cream 69's Dennis Ward was recruited, whom additionally recorded the album. Dani drummed, whilst Thomas laid down vocals and guitars once again. Erstwhile Primal Fear member Tom Naumann supplied guitar solos. Alongside Six Feet Under, a tour occurred in the autumn. Following the tour, Dani switched from drums to guitar. Oli became the new live drummer. In 2006, Debauchery supported Dismember upon a European tour. Whilst performing at the Queens of Metal Festival, Dani allegedly attacked Thomas onstage, leading to the drummer's departure. Back in Blood was recorded in 2006's summer at the House of Music, with Ward handling production and bass, Oli drumming, and Naumann cutting guitar solos. Released March 2007, the album was issued by AFM Records. In that year, Debauchery toured alongside Moonsorrow.

In late January 2008, “Blood God Rising” was made available for streaming via the group's official MySpace page. By late February, fifth full length Continue to Kill had been slated for issue in early April. Co-produced by Dennis Ward, the full length boasts the following guest musicians; Destruction and Headhunter's Schmier upon “Warfare”, Tomasz Janiszewski (ex-Belphegor) drumming, and Tom Naumann once again.


An evil entity dwells within our presence, and arrives in the guise of Debauchery. Intent upon a killing spree, you, the listener, happens to be next upon the list. The epitome of all that is Death Metal lies within Debauchery, and fifth studio full length Continue to Kill speaks volumes. Courtesy of the growled “It Pleases Us to Kill”, the album is inaugurated. Within immediate seconds, some of Metal's most brutal noises envelope the listener. A maniacal vocalist, Thomas spews forth violent lyrics via a deep, Death Metal oriented growl. Exhibiting Rock within a Death tone, appropriately enough, “Hard Rockin’” is a Hard Rock affair lifted from the pages of AC/DC, and comes replete with a pretentious guitar solo. “Apostle of War” immediately marks a return to the blackened depths, coupling gut pounding Metal against pacy riffing, and machine gun drums. Debauchery pushes hate over the very precipice, causing certain facets of Continue to Kill to be seemingly comical. The maddening skill of both the guitar department, and the group as a whole, is challenged in making a heavy cut like Slayer's “Angel of Death” (originally featured upon 1986's Reign in Blood) even heavier. In itself, “Angel of Death” is a monster number, and Debauchery's Death Metal interpretation affords the track an even more vicious edge.

One specific highlight alone causes Continue to Kill to be a worthy purchase, and that happens to be an opportunity to hear the group's cover interpretation of “Angel of Death”. Upfront, and heavy via a straightforward demeanour, the album boasts nothing fanciful. Should you still muse as to whether Continue to Kill is genuinely a Death Metal full length, then the fact that the word “kill” appears in various guises upon five occasions amongst the album's track listing alone will lay such qualms to rest. Not merely pedestrian Death Metal littered with both Speed and Thrash components, Debauchery incorporates Hard, near Southern Rock influences, which lends the outfit a certain appeal. Spontaneously, a melodic fragment surfaces during Continue to Kill's swansong moments, which extremely illustrates Debauchery's strength. A death-laden mission consumes the group, and Continue to Kill will help Debauchery in the mission's conclusion.