Earthsblood by God Forbid

God Forbid Earthsblood

01. The Discovery
02. The Rain
03. Empire of the Gun
04. War of Attrition
05. The New Clear
06. Shallow
07. Walk Alone
08. Bat the Angels
09. Earthsblood
10. Gaia (The Vultures)

Release date : February 2009

Reviewed by Eric Stephens


Background information


Background information

In early March 2008, God Forbid entered Trax East in South River, New Jersey with producer Eric Rachel (who's worked with such acts as Atreyu and The Dillinger Escape Plan) to begin recording material in support of a fifth full length. Vocals, meanwhile, were produced by Fear Factory guitarist Christian Olde Wolbers. After watching 2007 American drama There Will Be Blood, vocalist Doc Coyle was inspired to name the album Earthsblood. Midway into the month, Corey Pierce had finished tracking drums. Late in the month, God Forbid launched a studio blog at Mixing was handled by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden. In mid November, video footage which chronicled vocal recording surfaced. Later that month, Earthsblood was pencilled for European release on February 16th, 2009, and for North American release on February 24th, 2009, via Century Media Records. The same time the album's issue dates surfaced, an audio sampler composed of sections of several Earthsblood tracks additionally materialized.

During late December, more footage from the record's studio sessions materialized, and “The Rain” was made available for streaming via the group's official MySpace page. Midway into that month, Earthsblood's track listing was confirmed. Also, its artwork was revealed, artwork that was designed by the Brazilian based Gustavo Sazes. On the 26th, “War of Attrition” was made available for free download through God Forbid's official website (free sign-up was required). In early January 2009, yet more studio footage surfaced. Aired on the 11th, Doc and Dallas Coyle premiered new material on Indie 103.1 FM's specialty metal program Chaos with Full Metal Jackie. Late that January, “Walk Alone” was made available for streaming via a God Forbid widget. By early February, all of Earthsblood's tracks had been made available for streaming through MySpace. On February 15th at Cabo Grill in San Antonio, Texas, a press conference / listening party was held in support of Earthsblood.


Elaborate artwork adorns Earthsblood's front cover, and elaborate artwork can additionally be discovered throughout the booklet. Of Earthsblood's facets, this could very well be the album's initially captivating element. Alone, the full length's artwork heavily alludes towards special material, and yet again, God Forbid fails to disappoint. At any specific juncture during a track, the outfit utilizes the lungs of two vocalists (lead vocalist Byron Davis, and Dallas Coyle) as well as a backing vocal (Doc Coyle), not to mention a blistering dual guitar attack executed by Dallas and Doc Coyle. As concerns God Forbid, these are key ingredients. Solely a prelude to forthcoming destruction, “The Discovery”'s haunting keys are supported by an orchestra, concluding via a grinding build up. Subsequently, Earthsblood immediately launches into “The Rain”. Figuring amongst Earthsblood's quicker cuts, “The Rain” boasts a potent Metalcore flavour which the group likes to implement. Fusing multiple vocals against a strong dual guitar assault proves to be a lethal mixture, and just as you assume “and in this moment right here and now I can’t stop the rain” is the track's swansong sentence, “The Rain”'s concluding ferocity is even pacier, and will pummel down the listener.

As can be heard upon “The New Clear”, God Forbid actually venture into a Groove Metal ambience in select instances. Evidently, the group isn't solely drawn towards penning Metalcore material. Extremely helping to showcase Byron Davis' clean vocal facet, “The New Clear” obviously launches back into screaming, growling, rapidly paced Metal during its closing moments. As Earthsblood arrives towards its latter tracks, the album continually builds its momentum. Of the record's compositions, “Walk Alone” is the most dynamic. Inaugurated via a nice, modest guitar solo, the six minute beast subsequently sprints away courtesy of Corey Pierce's drumming, and growling vocals. To genuinely appreciate “Walk Alone”'s artistic style, the track requires several listens. The grindingly brutal “Bat the Angels” follows closely upon its heels, and during certain instances, possesses an Avenged Sevenfold vibe.

Throughout the Metal community, God Forbid is a name which has quickly spread, and Earthsblood will further the group's cause. Using multiple vocalists paired against grinding / grooving Metal riffs, the outfit pump a fresh sound into a stale genre. At certain times, God Forbid plug a Metalcore number, and during other times, the group incorporate groove and melodic parts. All in all, these stylings are appealing. The listener feels beaten down by the time that “Gaia (The Vultures)”'s bombastic, hard driving riffs surface, and God Forbid show no signs of mercy. Earthsblood boasts decent material throughout, with God Forbid's musically artistic prowess being audible for all.