Fury and the Fallen Ones by The Ghost Inside

The Ghost Inside Fury and the Fallen Ones

01. Provoke
02. Destined
03. Faith Or Forgiveness
04. Disintegrator
05. The Brave
06. Siren Song
07. Shiner
08. Revolutionary (Bang the Drum)
09. Inherent Youth
10. Smoke and Signal Fires
11. The Lion War
12. Blue and Gold

Release date : April 2008

Reviewed by Mark Fisher


Background information


Background information

Provisionally known as A Dying Dream, Los Angeles' The Ghost Inside have been touted as “next big thing in the hardcore and metal community”. In October 2004, the Californians inked a record contract with Frontline Records. The act entered Swinghouse Studios to cut inaugural EP The End Of An Era in early 2005, and toured alongside Trauma and A Hope For Change in December of that year. Mediaskare Records added the outfit to their roster in May 2006. That same month, The Ghost Inside entered Undercity Recordings in North Hollywood, California alongside producers Baron Bodnar and Jonathan Clardy to re-record EP Now Or Never. Issued in August, it boasted a new track titled “For What Its Worth”, was enhanced with live and behind-the-scenes footage, and sported new artwork. From late June to early August, the group performed American dates alongside Fate Thirteen. Throughout January and February 2007, further American dates paired A Ghost Inside with It Prevails. In May 2007, the group's name change was announced.

To cut tracks in support of album Fury and the Fallen Ones, The Ghost Inside recorded in Oakland, California with Zach Owen (known for work with other Metalcore acts such as Animosity and Arsonists Get All The Girls) at the production helm. Featuring album artwork designed by Ryan Eyestone, a music video was filmed for the track “Faith Or Forgiveness”. Directed by Nicole Bossier, filming took place in Ventura, California.


Not mirroring the average Metalcore full lengths which adorn the shelves, Fury and the Fallen Ones displays an insurmountably compassionate performance that is redolent of such groups as Cataract and Shai Hulud. In a strenuous bid to maintain the listener's attention, the record arduously strives. Lent an opportunity to exploit the microphone, the group lyrically take advantage. In numerous respects, the lyrical content proves more engaging in comparison to the musical stylings. Vigil's vocal execution, teamed with socially conscious lyrics which evoke feelings such as hope, forgiveness and unity, irrefutably forge a connection with such nineties Hardcore outfits as xDiscipleADx and Brother’s Keeper. However, the album's musical stylings pay tribute to those same acts in merely few instances. Commercially viable Metal rubs shoulders against filthy Hard Rock, comprising Fury and the Fallen Ones' actual sonics.

Without question, “Faith Or Forgiveness” reveals itself to be a definitive highlight. Solely critiqued upon The Ghost Inside's wildly emotional delivery, that song is arguably the greatest cut. Vigil welcomes the listener into the vestiges of his own heart and mind, whereas the group themselves hurl the track into a clenched fist which anthemically pumps. Casting the spotlight upon a fusion of both early Hardcore music and blatant Punk, “Revolutionary (Bang the Drum)” can be deemed another key song. Explosive snippets materialise at the correct moments, and the track ably orders your fist to rise towards the air - all whilst your lungs yell in unison. An ambient affair, “Smoke and Signal Fires” causes the listener to pause in their midst. An instrumental piece, “Smoke and Signal Fires” was authored so that it could form a prelude to the crushing “The Lion War”. Judged based upon its own merits, the song allows the listener an opportunity to both pause for breath and momentarily reflect. In light of that, the number proves quite effective. Unfortunately, Fury and the Fallen Ones additionally features extremely pedestrian tracks. More specifically, “Provoke”, “Siren Song” and “Shiner” pale in comparison to the quality of the aforementioned cuts. Collected together, these subpar tunes are greatly detrimental to the album's worth.

To summarise, The Ghost Inside holds promise. Wielding a mostly prominent sound, the group is driven by passion. The genre woefully lacks compassion at present, so writing such material will draw coverage. Also, the outfit pays noteworthy tribute towards Hardcore's sunnier times. Capable of tackling the present void, The Ghost Inside's sound will pique the curiosity of disillusioned Hardcore admirers. All in all, Fury and the Fallen Ones is a respectable album. Though it possibly won't strike you between the eyeballs, it strikes nonetheless.